Posted by: Rowland | March 27, 2008

Busy with stuff!

Not posted anything here for a week. Vicki has been leading some workshops Vicki trainingfor the Ministry of Education and I’ve been providing back-up computer support as well as providing the ‘taxi service’! So our usual routine has been disturbed and even my morning walks/jogs have been squeezed out. As I’ve got involved peripherally in education theory I found myself thinking that a lot of the young adults and older folk around us would also benefit from IEP’s – Individual Education Plans – targeted to our life situations and spiritual development so that real growth is achieved and weak areas are attended to. Some would say this is where ‘rules of life’ and ‘spiritual direction’ come in. Interestingly I have been using Morning Prayer from the Church of England recently as a basis for prayer and meditation, and have continued to find myself rising early and doing this. It seems that Celtic Daily Prayer from the Northumbria Community has been growing in popularity with many, following discussions about Missional Orders, but the Anglican Morning Prayer has provided more continuity in the Bible readings for me. This sort of spiritual foundation is often lacking in our younger friends and there are constant pastoral needs coming to the surface around us in this generation who usually have not had a good start in life. All this means we occasionally get understanding glimpses of Paul’s “Apart from other things, there is the daily pressure on me of my anxious concern for all the churches…” and I expect many of you will know what I’m talking about!

We still face the challenge of a move to develop a ‘place of prayer’: it seems to be ever more obviously a pre-requisite to bringing new things to birth in the region. Nevertheless for health and sanity (!) I am determined to get back into cycling and the bike is currently being refurbished and serviced – the first time ever that I have taken a bike to a dealer for this attention: I want it available sooner rather than later and the signs were not hopeful that I would get round to it myself!

Leave a Reply

Categories

