Posted by: Rowland | September 19, 2008

The sun is shining; thinking and doing

It’s been raining for a long time and the ground will be saturated. That means my walk up through the cane tracks up to South Ridge will be wet enough to quickly soak into my shoes and I’m sitting here wondering whether to go – it’s likely to rain again too. But should I just be a dry weather walker or does health and fitness require diligent exercise in all weathers? I rather think it does.
Probably this should be applied to other areas of life. Anything worthwhile should be done diligently, whether conditions are favourable or unfavourable, whether we feel like it or don’t feel like it, for better for worse, in sickness and in health, in season and out of season etc.
So I’m going.

Later we will get out together in the car to some place where we can talk and pray, think and decide. Our regular time together has become an essential, if at all possible. I’m so grateful that I’m married to such an inspiring person who exemplifies such a disciplined approach to life and to her teaching in particular. When I think of all those 15 years of banking routine for me, Vicki has surely complemented that in her earning since we have been in the Caribbean and even before that in Southampton when I was ‘unemployed’ as far as earning goes.
It seems helpful to have certain regular responsibilities which always have to be done. Now that I am able to be more of a thinker concerned for the big picture and for getting it right I wonder how productive that is when compared with the doers of this world who don’t need to think but just to get on with what is to hand. Doubtless we need both.

Interestingly on my walk I met a ‘walking neighbour’ and decided to walk with him on his laps around the houses. We talked about the world financial crisis – he has an MBA and owns a local business and also manages an inherited responsibility for a portfolio of shares. “No longer can we rely on formerly stable companies with a long track record of property assets – we have to adapt to market change or go under.” Then he asked how my ‘business’ was going and we talked about the need for a changing church and producing people with strong values capable of great flexibility in influencing the world around them. We agreed maintaining old ways is just not good enough and hence the decline in more traditional church involvement…

I was glad I walked – and the rain came just when I got back!

Responses

  1. “But should I just be a dry weather walker or does health and fitness require diligent exercise in all weathers? I rather think it does.
    Probably this should be applied to other areas of life. Anything worthwhile should be done diligently, whether conditions are favourable or unfavourable, whether we feel like it or don’t feel like it, for better for worse, in sickness and in health, in season and out of season etc.
    So I’m going.”

    Thanks for the encouragement to discipline, Rowley. It does ring close to home right now, as you know. 🙂 (Man I hate discipline! But I aim to be mature, and do what I need to do, whether I want to or not. Still working on it.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

