Posted by: Rowland | December 4, 2008

Visitors & reminiscing

fulness-mag

Enjoying Phil & Jean Iszatt’s visit and yesterday we were joined by Ted Crick who is also staying with friends in the Island. We all share a common history of being associated with the Stour Street Fellowship in Canterbury in the 1960’s and the subsequent house churches that developed from that in the 1970’s. In those days Ted was esteemed as a ‘deep’, solid and reliable source of Scriptural knowledge, prophetic wisdom and relationship with God. man-of-godNone of that seems to have been lost in his older years. He was enthralling us with stories of that Canterbury fellowship and it’s early links to Honor Oak, Halford House Richmond etc., and the work of T. Austin Sparks. I wish now I had copies of the early magazine, ‘A Candlestick all of Gold’ but all my copies have long since been given away. Ted was one of the influences and early contributors to Fulness Magazine and I’m glad that I still have the complete set of those – a real treasury of the house church movement in the UK. It’s a privelege to see this lovely man, now a widower, again.

Responses

  1. He sounds like a great man to get to know, Rowley πŸ™‚

    BTW – plz check out the armour bearers blog I set up… and leave some comments!

    I’d like to ask u to be a contributor on there from time to time as well…

  2. Awesome to see my dad on your blog!! I’ll have to show him next week! As a family we have been delighted and amazed that he’s made this trip to Barbados, and it sounds as though he’s both had an incredible time, catching and eating baracudas!! and also made an impact. I’ve said to my own children many times that it’s an amazing and challenging thing to see parents in old age as full of fire and vision and desire for God as the day when God first filled them up in their youth. So glad he was able to be with you, thank you to everyone on the island for helping to give himsuch a great first visit. Jenny

  3. You know what, Rowley – I was right – he IS a great man to get to know… πŸ˜€

    Just being with him the small time I met him has already impacted my life πŸ™‚

    BTW – Hi Jenny! You have an awesome privilege having Ted as a dad….


Leave a Reply

Categories

