Posted by: Rowland | May 13, 2009

Intercession?

Been quite a gap in my blogging recently although I have been faithfully maintaining my own journal: it’s just that some things seem too personal to publish here. But one thing I will mention is that at the ripe old age of 64 (although I keep saying there are so many more things I want to do when I grow up!) I seem to be on the receiving end of something fresh spiritually – at least for me. I find myself weeping a lot!

When I think about it, the closing of the apartheid days in South Africa, which were being constantly broadcast in various ways on film and TV before we left the UK, moved me strongly. This intensified when actually encountering in the Caribbean the evil legacy of slavery.

But in 2007 when listening to a man speak about a ‘place of prayer … in the middle of nowhere’ added to my underlying concern for the development of the young adults around us, my tears flowed uncontrollably – very unlike me! And to this day I can’t speak about these specifics without tears. And now I realise the phenomenon is more frequent and can be sparked off by other things.

Some days ago I was in Jamaica and in passing heard a respected church leader at a prayer summit just mention that he spent more time in tears these days. And last night speaking at a house church in Barbados I expounded on Isaiah 66 and made the ‘this is that’ link to ‘a nation being born in a day’ and the subsequent ‘new heavens and new earth’.

Bilbo’s glimpses of good living? I may be a late developer but I’m glad the adventure is continuing… We are living in challenging and exciting times.

Responses

  1. Before I posted this I thought that I had better read Isaiah 66! My first impression is that it is heavy Old Testament stuff, certainly the bit about not eating pork!

    I was drawn to respond to your post because I too, the older I get, feel inclined to tears as I contemplate man’s inhumanity to man as is constantly presented in the news media. However, I am not so sure that Isaiah 66 helps me to address these emotions. I am inspired and encouraged by the emphasis in this scripture that one’s faith in God will overcome the evils of this world, as described therein. My problem is that the OT idea of God is One who will punish those who do not follow and obey Him.

    I will keep this post short, and just use it to acknowledge my interest in your blog. God bless.

  2. And to this day I can’t speak about these specifics without tears. And now I realise the phenomenon is more frequent and can be sparked off by other things. —- i too feel this way… hard not to get emotional…


Leave a Reply

Categories

